Finnish Writers
Bagge, Tapani
Koskinen, Juha-Pekka
Leinonen, Anne
Mäkelä, J. Pekka
Peltoniemi, Sari

Juha-Pekka Koskinen

Juha-Pekka Koskinen has published three acclaimed historical novels, a collection of short stories and some thirty short stories in various magazines and anthologies.

Koskinen’s epic historical novels are a mystical blend of historical fact and fiction. He takes the reader on a journey through history, in the tradition of Bulgakov, Marquez, Eco and Calvino.

Koskinen has received grants from Finnish Cultural Foundation and Häme Province Foundation in 2002, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012, 2014 and 2016 and won the Karisto Foundation Award in 2005 and 2009 and WSOY Literary Foundation Award 2015.

 

TRANSLATIONS

- The Bosom friend
A short story. Translation by Liisa Rantalaiho.

- The Seventh Templar (2007)
Sir Canmore is already an old man when he arrives at the castle of Canmer to see his son Johannes. During his visit he gives his granddaughter a book; his memoirs from the later parts of the crusades. But his story isn’t complete: the writings are missing parts here and there and some pages are ruined by smudges of blood and tears. Elvira must do her best to fill the gaps left by her grandfather. The missing pieces of the puzzle concerning her grandfather fill in the remaining gaps, little by little, revealing the breathtaking truth. Whether in the heat of battle, in the midst of intrigue or while acting on motives of revenge, there rages an inner struggle. Should one follow the path of his own heart and mind or let the outside world and its duties dictate one’s destiny?
Translation by Veli-Pekka Koskinen

Juha-Pekka Koskinen

jpk(at)jpkoskinen.com
www.jpkoskinen.com

 

BOOKS

- Kuinka sydän pysäytetään (2015)
- Ystäväni Rasputin (2013)
- Paholaisen vasara (2011)
- Eilispäivän sankarit (2011)
- Kauhea Gabriel Hullo (2011)
- Pariisinvihreä työhuone (2011)
- Punainen talvi (2010)
- Harkittu murha (2009)
- Seitsemäs temppeliherra (2007)
- Kirjailija joka ei koskaan julkaissut mitään (2007)
- Savurenkaita (2006)
- Viisi todistajaa (2005)
- Ristin ja raudan tie (2004)