Finnish Writers
Bagge, Tapani
Koskinen, Juha-Pekka
Leinonen, Anne
Mäkelä, J. Pekka
Peltoniemi, Sari

J. Pekka Mäkelä

J. Pekka Mäkelä (born 1962) is a novelist and translator from Helsinki, Finland. So far, he has published four well-received science fiction novels and a couple of short stories. Instead of heroes, villains and mighties, he is more interested in people who are trampled under heroes’ feet or try to clean up the mess they have left behind.

The first novel, 391 (2004) tells a story of a WWII photographer who disappears during a flight in 1945 and appears again in 1989 – after spending a couple of years in late Roman period Alexandria stealing books from the Great Library for the benefit of a group of time travelers from the future.

Alshain (2006) introduces a future Earth colony fifty light years from Earth, with a flourishing mining industry, suspicious secret police force and a vast, mysterious ocean. The paths of several people cross at a time when an interstellar spacecraft crashes through the atmosphere and into the ocean.

Nedut (2007) is situated in our world, in our time – in a time when the Neanderthal people have returned from space and reclaimed their old hunting grounds. A somewhat unlucky former musician tries to make a living in Finland full of refugees and gets involved with a dissident from space.

In Karsta (2009), Earth has waged a war with the civilizations of our Galaxy – and lost dearly. A bunch of former dissidents and objectors are cleaning up the Solar system from wartime spacecraft wrecks and debris. They find that sometimes the most frightening people are not the evil people, but the people who believe in the existence of evil people.
J. Pekka Mäkelä has translated about forty books into Finnish, including ten novels by Philip K. Dick, four novels by Sean Stewart and Brian Francis Slattery’s Spaceman Blues.



J. Pekka Mäkelä



- Karsta (2009)
- Nedut (2007)
- Alshain (2006)
- 391 (2004)